Mystery yarn

July 14, 2010 § Leave a comment

I found a ball of yarn and a test swatch for a project abandoned back in 2006. However, I couldn’t recall what on earth it was.

A good way to test if a yarn is synthetic or natural is light a match and burn a small scrap of the yarn. If it’s synthetic, the fibers will melt, and if it’s a plant- or animal-based fiber it will burn. In this case, I wasn’t sure if it was acrylic or wool or an acrylic-wool blend, but as the scrap refused to burn, instead crisping a bit on the end, I knew that it was wool.

Since it was wool, I was able to spit-splice the unraveled swatch back onto the unused yarn. Hooray! I actually used water though, as I don’t want saliva enzymes on the wool, potentially causing damage. Hot water from the sink works great.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mystery yarn at knitprints.

meta

