Recycled yarn holder

September 30, 2010 § Leave a comment

One of my recent discoveries while reorganizing my kitchen was of some fruit-packaging foam stuff that I had shoved in the back of a kitchen drawer a while back. I actually don’t really know what it’s called, but it’s used to protect fruit from bruising while in transit.

Anyways, I always thought they were kinda cool looking (I admit I even wore them as funky wristwarmers for about an hour while typing once, though haven’t gotten up the nerve to do so around others…), and kept them. Then one day it dawned on me: hello, these could be useful! I shoved in two skeins of yarn and voilà, yarn holders.

Obviously, this works best with yarn that is wound as a center-pull skein. It works particularly well with any yarn containing silk or other slippery fiber, such as rayon. By the way, this is what the yarn in the holders looks like before being wound into center-pull balls on my nostepinne. It is Manos del Uruguay’s Silk Blend, which is so lush and lovely.

Bonus: the yarn holders help fend off frisky feline frolicking by curious cats like Kif. Though in fairness Hermione is actually worse, since she bites the yarn and tries to carry it off.

They love to play with yarn, but when I make them cat hats they seem oddly resistant to yarn all of a sudden. Sigh.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recycled yarn holder at knitprints.

meta

