The scarf

November 5, 2010 § 2 Comments

As promised, here’s the scarf pattern I blogged about a few days ago: presenting the Theodosia Scarf. I did get a bit sidetracked with some school (and social and family) obligations, thus the delay in posting the pattern itself. I’m so excited that I was able to design, write, and find test knitters on a deadline and for that I feel like I’ve climbed the knitting equivalent of a tall mountain. Maybe not quite Everest levels, but still thrilling for me.

Also, many thanks go out to my awesome testers on Ravelry who helped shepherd me through the process of both writing patterns, editing patterns, and hosting my first test knit thread.

Theodosia is a scarf designed to show off the wonderful colorways of Malabrigo Yarn Sock. The seemingly randomly-placed cascading puffs of puckered fabric within three columns are made by combining paralleled lines of increases and decreases, thus creating a modern textural effect that highlights the subtle color variations in kettle- or hand-dyed sock yarns.

 

I think it would make a great gift for the holidays, either for you or someone knitworthy. According to the aforementioned test knitters, it’s great for knitting on the go, though I personally enjoyed watching Top Gear while making it!

Skills used for this pattern:

  • knit through back loop
  • kfb: knit through front and back loops in the same stitch (increase)
  • k2tog: knit two stitches together (decrease)

Yardage requirement: one and a half skeins (660 yards total) in colorway 852 Persia of Malabrigo Yarn Sock (or colorway of your choice)

Yarn information:

Malabrigo Yarn Sock

  • light fingering 3-ply 100% superwash merino
  • 3.53 ounces/100 grams
  • 440 yards/402 meters

Just for fun, here’s an outtake from my photoshoot:

The scarf in progress/the yarn up close. I absolutely loved working with this yarn; Malabrigo Yarn Sock is seriously delightful stuff.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to The scarf

  • Muriel Storchheim says:

    I would like to order this scarf and yarn. Please inform me how to order this scarf. Theodosia Malabridgo sock yarn. What other color comb. do you have. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The scarf at knitprints.

meta

