Sneak preview

February 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

So I know I haven’t posted in a while, but I blame my almost complete lack of creativity in the knitting/crochet skills department, instead relying on patterns the last few months to create things. But! I did manage to eke out a cool new pattern (and, duh, the actual item itself), AND it’s also a stashbuster!! I’m practically beaming at my own practicality. It’s quite embarrassing, really.

Stashbusting is a good thing. I tend to buy small skeins when I like the color/feel/look of the yarn, but mainly because I want to try out a certain breed of sheep or type of fiber. Also, when I’m feeling like some retail therapy, which I shamefacedly admit has been rather frequently these past few months.

In this case, I found the yarn for this cowl at Tuesday Morning last summer, before I really knew about LYSes and that sort of thing. Then of course I discovered Ravelry and tried fruitlessly to find the perfect pattern, but instead, the yarn, unlike me, patiently waited for the ideal iteration to appear in my head, and was then knitted…and then promptly left to molder for a few weeks since I kinda got distracted and forgot to bind off. Ahem.

Hopefully later this week I can get the pattern written up. I’m considering taking some photo tutorials because the stitch pattern is a bit tricky to grasp at first, though once I got it I was like, “That’s not so hard,” and I really think sometimes it’s those small successes, from learning a new stitch to designing a stylish cowl, that keep me coming back to knitting.

Well, that and the yarn…!

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sneak preview at knitprints.

meta

