Red velvet cake

March 3, 2011 § 2 Comments

Finally feeling way better and my shawl is complete! It looks so good and the lace really looks crisp and elegant now. Unfortunately, as I’m sure I’ve complained before, my camera is pretty weird/terrible but I got a nice detail shot out of it AND the color is almost accurate. I decided to rename the shawl the Red Velvet Cake shawl since it is almost the same color as my birthday cake.

The yarn I used, Brooklyn Tweed’s SHELTER, is totally crunchy yet soft. I love that I’ve learned and retained at least enough information about sheep breeds that I can totally identify the Columbia in the yarn, or at least the Columbia genetics since the yarn is spun from Columbia x Targhee sheep.

Anyway, I highly recommend trying out a skein if you can get it, but it would be remiss if I didn’t mention that it is quite expensive due to being entirely made from Wyoming wool and spun in New England. However, it is entirely lovely to knit with (I’d love to try crocheting with it too), and I think it is really important to both support rarer-breed sheep and the American wool industry, at least when I can.

The pattern, “Terra” by Jared Flood, is very quick to knit, though I did have some frogging issues in the lace portion, mainly caused by my own overconfidence and laziness in not initially wanting to run a lifeline. Now if only I could remember to run a lifeline and rare sheep breed trivia…

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Red velvet cake

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Red velvet cake at knitprints.

meta

