Day 4: Where are they now?

March 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

Whatever happened to your __________?

Write about the fate of a past knitting project. Whether it be something that you crocheted or knitted for yourself or to give to another person. An item that lives with you or something which you sent off to charity.

I actually still have a few knitting and crochet projects that I made a long time ago. However, most ended up as gifts. It never really occurred to me, before the age of the widespread digital camera, to take photographs, but over the winter holidays, my cousin mentioned that her two kids love the giraffe and the baby blanket I crocheted (without a pattern) for the birth of her first kid about five years ago. So that’s pretty cool! And then I felt guilty because I had planned to make something for the second baby’s birth but was so busy with school I didn’t have time. Fortunately, I’ve been working hard at making them matching toys (DangerCraft monsters), and here’s even an “in-progress” shot, still somewhat of a novelty for me.

These double-crocheted scarves, however, truly represent the vast majority of my crochet output in the early years, as they were very mindless (too mindless, really) and could be made while traveling or, more frequently, while watching TV after school.

I also made a bunch of their related project, the afghan rectangle, of which I made quite a bunch and donated to a program called Warm Up America! (or at least, I think that’s what it is/was called), and also some to sew together into my own afghan. However, I never did finish that project so I will probably just turn it into a nice baby or pet blanket, maybe also to donate.

One of the double-crochet scarves currently lives in my boyfriend’s car, because a few years ago I was wearing it and he was all, that’s a nice scarf, so I wrapped it around him and thought the colors were better on him. He keeps it in the car for when it gets cold…and then leaves it there all year because, well, I don’t know why, but I suspect laziness has something to do with it. Fortunately it is made from Lion Brand’s Wool-Ease, that sturdy stuff. Which incidentally, I chose from my stash for the knitted toys for my cousins, as I know it will withstand a lot of damage.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 4: Where are they now? at knitprints.

meta

