Stash and sadness

April 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

Recently I sort of put myself on a stashdown, because I have accumulated quite a bit of yarn in anticipation of my move back east. Unfortunately, one of my favorite LYSes is closing, and my backorder will not be filled. And since they’re closing, I ended up placing an order for some Rowan pattern books, as well as some more yarn, because otherwise I might not be able to easily get those pattern books again.

I’ve never been to the LYS, because it’s located very far away, but their online selection was stellar. I first heard about the store from an internet friend whose friend owns the store. She mentioned that her friend’s store was struggling somewhat due to the economy in that region, so it doesn’t really come as a surprise that they’re closing now. They had excellent prices and great customer service, and now the employees will be looking for jobs elsewhere in a region where jobs are quite scarce.

They’re having a 25% off sale, so I will order some Kidsilk Haze to make a sweater as they have the color I want in stock. I may also get some more Rowan Purelife Organic wool “just because.” So not only am I sad that people are losing their jobs and that my second Rowan source is closing, I also feel a tiny bit guilty that I am going to be increasing my stash to boot!

Assuming that the backorder can’t be filled (it was from a bit ago), I think I’ll place the special order through my favorite actually-local yarn store. I know I can’t keep every wonderful store in business through my spending and sheer force of will, but I’m not willing to cave quite yet. For the customer service quality alone, it’s worth it to me, as I’ve found that small stores on average are much more responsive to customer needs. Of course, this past weekend I was hanging out with some knitter friends, and they had some horror stories of poorly-run local stores, so just because it’s local doesn’t mean it’s ethical. And of course, larger companies can be ethical too. Basically, being an informed consumer requires a lot of effort. Thankfully, though, now that I can knit and read at the same time, my research doesn’t cut into my knitting time, and that’s definitely a positive in all this sadness.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stash and sadness at knitprints.

meta

