A long weekend

October 10, 2011 § 2 Comments

The Uncommon Thread superfine Shetland in Burnt

…that got off to a great start!

First, some yarn I’d been waiting for arrived, all the way from the UK, from one of my favorite Etsy shops, The Uncommon Thread. It’s lovely superfine Shetland spinning fiber, in really lovely autumnal colors.

I also got some Kidsilk Lace, which was really difficult to photograph. I guess I should probably take it as yet another sign that my point and shoot camera is fairly terrible. But, now that I’ve got the yarn, I can start on a crochet design beacuse I feel like I haven’t crocheted in ages, though I did make a cat cardigan a while back.

The Uncommon Thread kidsilk in Into Dust

However, the best part of the weekend so far (besides sleeping in) was Friday night, as I went out to dinner with my friend A, who is also a crocheter. Of course, I attempted some Ravangelizing, as I like to call it, and hopefully she’ll sign up soon.

While we always have fun, it was really interesting talking with her this time in particular, because I think of all my friends right now, she and I are really close in terms of current situation: both living at home, working jobs we don’t particularly like. Both of us feel exhausted all the time, to the point where it is starting to feel like we never get anything done except work and sleep. At least A is completely set on what she wants to do; being a teacher is her dream and while right now might be pretty tiresome for her, in about ten months she’ll be able to run her own classroom. In the meantime, A and I have a plan to meet up for crafting and cooking night every few weeks, because we both feel like we need to a) socialize more, and b) actually make time for our hobbies.

In that spirit, yesterday I went to the local fabric store to buy some fabric for skirts. Unfortunately my goal of starting to sew today on the machine was derailed by the fact that I need to apply for more jobs, and I really should work some more on my shawl, as I’d like to wear it to Rhinebeck this weekend. While a little disappointing, having a finished shawl to wear will be totally worth it, as this way I can wear one each day of the festival. Some of my friends will be wearing their Rhinebeck sweaters, but I think I’ll have to wait until next year for that!

§ 2 Responses to A long weekend

  • Good luck! And remember, to get a job is a job. And good for you to put that first instead of sewing. I’ll keep you in my thoughts or prayers, which ever your prefer. BTW, my daughter regularly reads your cooking blog!

    • k.m. says:

      Thanks so much for the good wishes! One nice thing about my internship is that I have plenty of time to brainstorm projects and posts and things, but I’ll definitely take any job-finding mojo I can get 😉

      Also, I’m pleased that your daughter likes my cooking blog, after today that definitely cheers me up!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A long weekend at knitprints.

meta

