Promises

December 31, 2011 § 2 Comments

This month I’m proud to report that not only did I manage to finish one gift in time for Christmas, a hat for my mom, but also that I started my aunt’s sweater and my sister’s hat. Fortunately the latter can pick up her hat in January when she comes back to visit, meaning I can focus almost exclusively on the sweater.

It will be my first knitted sweater not for a baby…and I know what you’re thinking, I’ve been promising completed sweaters for a really long time now. This time, contrary to all evidence presented, is different. This time I will complete this sweater because I have a lure at the other end: if I finish this sweater, I can buy a skein of Super-Soft Shetland from The Uncommon Thread.

But before I fall utterly in love with a base I haven’t even felt yet (and fortunately on her last update she sold out of SSShetland before I could even see it), I can talk about Brooklyn Tweed Loft. While it feels lovely — quite textural and yet smooshy — in the skein, knitted up it’s actually quite different from its older sibling, Shelter. While Shelter retains some of its crunchiness, Loft feels velvety and plush when knitted up using US 3 needles, a light sport gauge I estimate. It is smooth and yet not sleek, thanks to its woolen-spun construction. Definitely check it out if you get the chance, because I am hard-pressed to think of a similar yarn, as the combination of woolen-spun and specific breed blend is unique. Perhaps Imperial Stock Ranch’s sock yarn, spun similarly but from 100% Columbia, not Columbia-Targhee, might be similar, but in the skein the ISR yarn feels a bit dryer and not quite so lush.

Originally this sweater was supposed to be a pullover with cables curling asymmetrically around the right side, but after discovering that the color my aunt picked is really too dark for cables, it’s now all stockinette stitch. I’m now contemplating also changing the neck area to incorporate some ribbing detail or something, and I also changed it to be knit in the round.

Since the sweater is stockinette (stocking) stitch, I can knit it in the car, while watching TV, while reading on my new Nook, etc. That means NO EXCUSES, because what’s easier than knitting around and around? Even though I really love working with Loft, I must admit that sometimes, it’s the lure of the new yarn that gets me motivated. (I’ve decided that this year is the year I work with my quirks and not against them.)

Ok, and for backup insurance I joined a KAL. Some knitting shaming usually does me some good!

I hope you have a happy new year, filled with beautiful yarn and even lovelier projects!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Promises

  • meg says:

    Love your Loft colors so much! I hope I can pick some up when I come out for MDSW!

    • k.m. says:

      We will definitely be going to fibre space, it’s worth it just to see Old Town Alexandria (lots of cute boutiques and historic buildings), George Washington’s church, and the waterfront and the Torpedo Factory (no torpedoes for sale, but there are lots of artists and their works for sale/display there). Plus, the yarn selection is great at the store!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Promises at knitprints.

meta

