iCowly

April 11, 2012 § 4 Comments

Before re-procrastinating on my aunt’s still-not-quite-complete sweater (seaming is a pain), I volunteered to test-knit a gorgeous cowl, Serrate, by Lisa Mutch. Lisa is a super-talented designer and dyer, and she’s really kind and helpful too.

I opted to use stash yarn (insert virtuous glow here, not that using Brooklyn Tweed Loft in Snowbound and Soot is such a hardship) and followed the instructions exactly. I’ve wrapped-and-turned before, but admittedly it’s one of those things, like kitchener, that always makes me paranoid about the surrounding instructions. I feel like if I have to look up the technique, I’m going to be distracted by focusing on that and other problems might not get spotted, but with Serrate, there are no issues, just trust the instructions and your cowl will turn out perfectly.

I calculated that 10% of all my projects (posted on Ravelry so far) are cowls, so obviously I’m kind of predisposed to liking them, but this one is a cowl with a bit of edginess, the triangle adding both knitting and stylistic interest.

Fortunately after a few really warm weeks, the cooler spring temperatures I prefer returned, and I can now wear my cowl two weeks after completing it without looking like I’m delusional from wool fumes.

Hopefully the weather will keep on being this nice for Maryland Sheep and Wool, as I don’t think my plans of finishing a lightweight spring cardigan in cotton are going to come to fruition any time soon, and I might be forced by knitter pride to wear wool on May 5th and 6th.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to iCowly

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading iCowly at knitprints.

meta

