Visiting WEBS

June 29, 2012 § 6 Comments

Even though I have enough yarn to outfit a flock of sheep (ok, perhaps a small flock of small sheep), I was SO excited to go to WEBS, America’s largest yarn store (or at least I think it is?) with my aunt and my mom three weekends ago. We didn’t make a trip specifically to go see WEBS, though, we’re not that crazy…yet. (We did have so much fun that we are planning next time we go visit my aunt to see the New Hampshire town of Harrisville, a national historic district, where Harrisville Mill is located.)

Anyway, after hanging out with my aunt, uncle, cousin, her husband, and their two kids on the first day, we took the second day to drive a few hours west to attend my mom’s high school reunion, located in the western part of Massachusetts. My mom attended a prep school about 45 minutes from Northampton, meaning after the luncheon for the alumnae we high-tailed it out of there, heading south to the yarn capital of North America. We got a little yarn crazy and even a bit yarn-dorky, since my aunt took my picture both in front of WEBS and in the warehouse. (Photos not shown due to massive embarrassment on the subject’s part.)

My mom and aunt both knit, but not really actively anymore. Despite that, they still were really excited to see the store due to its fame, size, and wide selection of yarns. I think actually they were a little surprised at how little I bought, since they kept saying, “Oooh, that’s cute! I bet you could make that!”

They also liked to say, “Wow, I don’t think I could ever make this!”…despite the fact that my aunt is currently working on a cabled aran sweater, and my mom has knit several sweaters herself. Hilariously, right after insisting a raglan pullover is too hard for her, my aunt was then heard telling my mom that cables are really easy.

One of the things I loved most about WEBS was how many shop models they had on display. We must be a Rowan family, because we all admired these gorgeous sweaters.

Before shopping the front room, I went to explore the famed warehouse. Definitely do not miss it, there are some great deals back there. I saw lots of yarns that I really wish I could’ve gotten, but I resisted the urge and only came out of the warehouse with one bag of Rowan Purelife Organic Cotton DK, one of my favorite yarns OF ALL TIME that Rowan cruelly took away from me.

After scouring every aisle, I decided that it was time to browse through the pattern books. I scooped up Rowan 48 to make a cape, and two Amy Butler for Rowan pattern books that I hadn’t been able to locate online. So, since I was there, I got the yarn for the Rowan cape, Rowan Purelife British Sheep Breeds DK in Mid-Brown Jacob.

While I chatted with other knitters and the extremely helpful staff at the store, my mom found some yarn  for a friend of hers, and my aunt apparently just enjoyed soaking in the colors and textures.

My mom said she also repeatedly went back and checked on a cute cropped sweater model from Plymouth, so while at checkout when we found out that we were only a bit short of the $120 discount, my mom insisted I go get the pattern and the yarn. My aunt and I picked out some Rowan (yes, more Rowan!) Felted Tweed Aran in a gorgeous cranberry red for the cardigan. Actually, I just checked the photo caption and this is colorway 732 Cherry, but my aunt has lived in New England for the vast majority of her life, so I guess it’s only natural that she’d call that color cranberry and not cherry.

Anyway, for those stash-busters following along, I traveled more than 500 miles to get to WEBS so purchasing yarn was ok by my cold-sheep rules. I did try to practice restraint though, so I only got enough yarn to finish off some leftover yarn from my Rowan crochet shrug/cardigan, and then enough for one additional project (the cape). The cranberry/cherry yarn is a gift for my aunt in sweater form, so that’s cool too under my cold-sheep rules.

Oh and speaking of cold sheep, here’s one made from BEADS that sits right by the entrance. (I think the beads are from the nearby WEBS bead store, actually.)

So, is it worth the drive? I’d say if you are in western New England, and you’ve got a free afternoon, it’s definitely worth it to stop by WEBS. Our only regret is that we didn’t have enough time to explore the area around WEBS, since Northampton and the surrounding area are supposed to be quite charming, so perhaps I should say it’s worth it if you’ve got a free day.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Visiting WEBS

  • caityrosey says:

    Looks like paradise.

  • Nicole says:

    I live 90 minutes east of there! I’ve been out a few times but usually mail order because I get sensory overload when I get to the store and then can’t remember why I was driving all that way. Plus, I don’t often get four hours when I can be out of contact with my family. It’s a great place, though. They really do have just about everything.

    • kristina says:

      Ninety minutes is a pretty long distance, true. There’s a yarn store about 45 minutes from me that I love to visit, but I tend to save up a bunch of purchases (even if I take Metro to get there) since the time there and back really does add up!

      However, I bet it’s still nice to have the option to go to WEBS 🙂

  • Susan Maroni says:

    I live less than 10 minutes walk from Webs, and my first few years in Northampton I succumbed to temptation almost every week. I still check in at the warehouse very often, and tend to restrict my front of store purchasing until I have $120 so I can get the fat discount. Happy knitting!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Visiting WEBS at knitprints.

meta

